The Bank of Greece (Greek: Τράπεζα της Ελλάδος Trapeza tis Ellados, abbreviated ΤτΕ) is the central bank of Greece. Its headquarters is located in Athens on Panepistimiou Street, but it also has several branches across the country. It was founded in 1927 and its operations started officially in 1928. The building that currently houses its headquarters was completed ten years later in 1938. The Bank of Greece is listed on the Athens Exchange.


The Bank of Greece, a member of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB), is the national central bank of Greece and was established by Law 3424/7 December 1927. The shares of the Bank of Greece are registered and have been listed on the Athens Exchange since June 12, 1930.


It is a partially state owned S.A. share company with special privileges, special restrictions, and duties.[4] It cannot operate as a commercial bank and the percentage of shares that can be under Greek state ownership cannot exceed 35% (initially this limit was 10%). It has a staff of more than 1,800 employees.


The primary objective of the Bank of Greece is to ensure price stability in Greece. It also supervises the private banks and acts as a treasurer and fiscal agent for the Greek government. Since law 3867/2010 was passed the Bank of Greece is also responsible for supervising private insurance companies, merging with the Committee for the Supervision of Insurance Companies established by law 3229/2004. Its Euro banknotes printer identification code is Y. The Bank of Greece also sells gold sovereigns. Click for complete WIKI..

Click to go back...